‘Procrastinating’…with DS106 tdc611

I have many many half started, half finished blog posts – possibly close to 10. I think it’s because I have a lot of ideas about what I’d like to write about, start, then never finish. Posts always seem so clear in my head, but when I get down to writing them it takes a lot longer than I anticipate to construct them into a complete and coherent structure.

But perhaps I’m trying too hard. The original intent of this blog was a space for reflection, which means semi-coherent-stream-of-consciousness-thoughts-in-progress are acceptable. So, inspired by Julian Stodd’s post on the reason for reflection I’m abandoning / ‘procrastinating’ my intended post for something fun and lighthearted: a DS106 daily create (tdc611):

Create an interesting high contrast black and white image of an easily overlooked object.

Oft Overlooked Car

One of the dozens of small cars that may be found in every nook and cranny of the house. The one he wants is, of course, the one that can never be found.

Looking at the example from the original brief, I know mine isn’t *quite* right; it’s not high contrast enough – those cars should be less grey and more black or white. Probably because they weren’t sufficiently monotone in the original pic. It’s possibly something I could fix with more editing but I didn’t really want to spend all night on it (tdcs are supposed to be 15 minute challenges after all…!). Regardless, it’s good to get back into daily creates after not having looked at one for a few weeks. I’ll be trying to get back to at least 1 or 2 a week. The challenge is making space and time for everything I’d like to do, without total chaos descending. That’s still a work in progress.

2 thoughts on “‘Procrastinating’…with DS106 tdc611

  1. learningsnippets says:

    Hey Tanya, I can relate with the half-started posts. I seem to have a few myself too. If I can, I try to jot down an idea when it comes to me or if I think something that might be good to write about. Trouble is when it comes to fleshing it out, sometimes the idea doesn’t seem so great. I’m thinking it might be part of the ‘creative process’ or more likely that sometimes ideas need to grow and you need to work them over and you can build on them to get to the heart of what you want to say.

    • tanyalau says:

      Yes..agree! There are definitely half started ones in the pile that aren’t yet finished due to time (…and that I WILL get to…one day….) but others like you mention, that are almost threads of thought that aren’t quite ready; perhaps waiting for another insight to complete the puzzle. I write ideas down a lot more now too – I think that’s one of the side effects of writing more regularly – you start to notice inspiration everywhere! I think that’s also part of the reason why there’s so many half started posts!

Leave a Reply

